It’s Been a While Since I Talked About My Trip to…

30 May

One of the things I got to do was meet my Japanese voice, Yasuhiro Takato. So far he has dubbed my voice for Alcatraz and LOST. We talked for a bit and I asked him about his other voiceover work because I was curious and wanted to pick up a DVD of one of his animated shows. He told me a show title but it slipped my mind.

However the next day when I was out I saw this toy. Didn’t know who it was or what it was from. I just saw a polar bear in an orange jumpsuit who is apparently upset about something. What’s his problem? Why is he so upset? So I bought him.

The next day a package was delivered to my hotel room with a toy figure of this same bear and this thank you note from Yasuhiro. He is the voice of this bear! Crazy coincidence. And while I was shopping it didn’t take long to discover that this show, One Piece, was huge. And it had some of the coolest looking characters. I mean check this guy out. 

26 Responses to “It’s Been a While Since I Talked About My Trip to…”

  1. musemanticore May 30, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    Oh bless him, he looks so cute. Do they even have a word in Japanese for ‘Dude.” ?
    That bottom one looks a bit … erm … Rocky Horror Show.

  2. Donna Siano May 30, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Very cool! In any language both shows are great! Keep up the good work. I hope to see you in a movie or another show soon,

  3. Debbie M. May 30, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    Wow, what a cool coincidence! It seems polar bears keep appearing in your life in one way or another.

  4. Laura in Cancun May 30, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    My husband is OBSESSED with One Piece. Apparently it’s really popular, even here in Mexico! The characters creep me out, though…

  5. Eugene May 30, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    That’s so sweet. Everything happens for a reason. I’m not sure there really are any “coincidences.” I will definitely check out One Piece. Thanks!

  6. Jackie Denney May 30, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    nice to be able to meet the guy who does you …he doesn’t look a thing like you.snort*

  7. Tammie May 30, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    It’s neat that they consistantly use the same person to do your voice in Japanese. I thought that the bear was upset that he did not get chosen to go to the island, but maybe he was uset that you did not recognize him;o)

    • Tammie May 30, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

      upset, not uset.

  8. kake79 May 30, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Such a strange coincidence. And it is interesting to know that they used the same voice actor to do you on two different shows. There’s more pressure for you to find another gig… you have to keep this guy employed, too! *LOL* Or maybe it can work in reverse and you can start being his voice guy for the English of his show.

  9. simone (@bochelsinki) May 30, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    You can read One Piece for free on MANGA ROCK for iPad. Or on mangastream.com.🙂
    It is absolutely the greatest on-going manga!

  10. leendadll May 31, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    oh, crap… my personality is a toy in Japan. NEEEEEEEEDDDDDDDD!!

  11. jean cave May 31, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    Japanese inflection is very difficult . . think constipated but hesitant.

  12. claudia333 May 31, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    Wow. That is really interesting and it must be a weird kind of feeling as well. To watch yourself with a different voice I mean. But really interesting and the bear was too much!
    Very cool Jorge.

  13. Jeff May 31, 2012 at 2:42 am #

    I’d be upset too if I had to constantly wear an orange jumpsuit.

  14. Sunshine May 31, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    Was that a hand-made card or is it store-bought? It is very cool on the inside. Wonder what the outside looks like.

  15. Jeff May 31, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    What about the episodes dubbed in Spanish? Do you do your own voice or does someone else get the job?

  16. gina June 1, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    looks like Dr. Frank-N-Furter from the rocky horror picture show, via animation

  17. Anne McCandlish June 2, 2012 at 5:12 am #

    Reminds me of a Dharma suit……..wishful thinking! Living in the past!

  18. MARTA(BcN) June 3, 2012 at 5:15 am #

    hahahhah te lo juro, I promise you, me muero con la primera foto😉

  19. Nora June 6, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    Hey… I just saw you on the front page of Reddit! 🙂

  20. James Hernandez June 6, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    Jorge,

    You just have to love the Japanese charachters in anime!

  21. Tiffany Noélli June 6, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Bear Dharma, kkkkk!!! I loved you Godzilla…. My dream is to know Japan too! Beautiful country, modern and colorful! xx🙂

  22. kake79 June 7, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    Hey, TV Guide has an article about you landing a guest role on Californication alongside Maggie Grace. Congrats!

  23. leendadll June 12, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Thank you SO much for the Ivankov pic. My toy order arrived today and when I posted the pic I realized it looks almost exactly like my blog header (nearly same pose; same colors)… TOTALLY me… but only in drag. The character is too good looking to be me when it changes to a woman.

  24. Melinda Erb Kean July 1, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    ….wasn’t Bepo Sun’s dogs name? (Love you Jorge!)

Leave a Reply

