John Williams with Michael Giacchino

1 Sep

Sometimes I have moments where I say to myself, ” I can’t believe this is my life.”

Last night Michael Giacchino invited Beth and I to the Hollywood Bowl to watch John Williams in concert.ย 

It was a blast. I honestly was brought to tears three different times. Especially when he closed with the entire final reel of E.T. playing the music live along with it.And that was before the three encores.

The show has a really fun atmosphere. And it’s always great to see the lightsabers come out as soon as the Star Wars stuff starts.ย 

24 Responses to “John Williams with Michael Giacchino”

  1. ratmando September 1, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    That’s so wonder-filled. So amazingly wonderful. Shivers for that night for you both!

  2. Debbie M. September 1, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    That sounds like a fabulous evening, Jorge!

  3. Rafa acmewolf September 1, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    Congrats Jorge! In the first picture Who are the others? THX!

  4. Sam Grant September 1, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    We were there tonight. Really memorable. The violin soloist sat in the box behind us with a light saber.

  5. Rabea September 2, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    Oh I love John Williams! Now I’m jealous!๐Ÿ™‚

  6. claudia333 September 2, 2012 at 4:25 am #

    WOW. That sounds awesome!

  7. Jeff September 2, 2012 at 6:21 am #

    I could be wrong, but I think that’s a touring show. I’ll have to look into it further.

  8. Tammie September 2, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    That sounds AWESOME!!!!! I would have been blubbering if it was the scene where ET and Elliot say goodbye. Seeing it out under the night sky would add to the experience too.

  9. devonellington September 2, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    That sounds spectacular. Williams in concert is pretty amazing anyway, but add in those effects — what a great evening!

  10. Donna Siano September 2, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    Wow glad you all had a good time. Sorry I missed it.

  11. Lucy Cardenas September 2, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    That is so awesome! I’m glad you had so much fun๐Ÿ™‚ I know that feeling I have it everyday I go to work. It’s my dream job & I’m getting paid to do something I love to do. Just moved into a different house & love it๐Ÿ™‚ wish it had a big pool like yours. Salads de Yuba City CA.

  12. MARTA(BCN) September 2, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    ohhhhhhhh yo quiero ir a USA!!!!!!!!

  13. Kathy September 2, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Wow! What an awesome night that sounds and looks like it was….๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Sue Eckhardt September 2, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    You do have a great life! I wish you’d tell us more about it. I enjoy your blog and I’d love to know what you’re up to. Not too personal. Just upcoming TV & movie stuff, and the sort of stuff you already share. Thanks!

  15. hayleyscomett September 2, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    Wow, that looks like a fantastic time! How wonderful you two got to go to that. Looks like it was a lot of fun!!! Would have given me goosebumps for sure! Love your Blog Jorge๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Nick September 2, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    Williams had without question the biggest impact on my appreciation for music and film. I’d probably tear up the most during Hook and Jurassic Park. Those were my childhood-wonder films.

  17. Anthony J. Rapino September 2, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    That looks like an amazing show! Jorge, I received your signed photo today. The inscription totally made my YEAR! Thanks so much! (Too many exclamation points? Never!)

  18. TV James September 3, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    We flew down from Seattle just for that show. What a great show. (It had been quite a few years since the last time we attended John Williams at the Hollywood Bowl, so the lightsabers was new to us. Such fun!)

  19. Grete September 3, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    We were there, too! It was a great show, and I also was choking back tears a couple times… Seeing John Williams was on my “bucket list”, so hearing some of his music was like reliving parts of my childhood.

  20. yellowdoggranny September 4, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    good friends, great music..can’t get any better than that.

  21. Chinny September 5, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    That sounds like an amazing show. Any Raiders of the Lost Ark?

    • Olive September 8, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      It’s a wonderful life, yes?๐Ÿ˜‰

  22. Billy von Grossen September 11, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    Thanks Jorge,

    I requested an autograph with a weird dedication (inside joke stuff) for my wife and I anniversary. You were so cool to fulfill that request and I personally want to thank you!

    The photos are now hanging in our living room (with family photos). I show them off to all of our Lost and Alcatraz (friends) fans.

    I think its really cool that you take the time to sign autographs. You made me and my wife so happy for your kindness!

    You truly a Star!!!

    Billy

  23. Jeff September 12, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    Dog, raccoon, and a kitten: http://www.wimp.com/raccoonbeagle/

Leave a Reply

