Gearing up for Halloween

17 Oct

It’s been a busy month. So I’ve been neglecting this blog and my twitter account. But I got to spend some time with my mom and we scanned a lot of pictures. So I  thought I’d take these few days before Halloween to share with you some of my childhood costume highlights. Starting with this FEROCIOUS TIGER!

This costume was sewn by my grandmother. There is a picture of my sister wearing it the year before with a cat mask. I’m glad I stopped getting her hand-me-down costumes because this year she was a ballerina.

22 Responses to “Gearing up for Halloween”

  1. Naomi October 17, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    Precious🙂

  2. Donna Siano October 17, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Very cool!! Cute little tiger.

  3. Jeff October 17, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    I’m diggin’ that carpet! (Can’t wait to see what Pip & Smidge will be wearing this year).

  4. Addie October 17, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    seriously cute!

  5. Heather October 17, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Pumpkin carving party coming up?

  6. Sam Grant October 17, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    I love seeing the results of your pumpkin carvings.

  7. Dianne Davis October 17, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Very cute tiger! I was the lion off the same pattern your grandmother used for the tiger. They still have it in the pattern books, too. 🙂

  8. Marta October 17, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    Your first role 😉

  9. Tammie October 17, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    I am sure you would have been a fabulous ballerina;o) As a younger sibling, I know the woes of hand-me-downs. The pups could be tigers in homage to your childhood costume this year.

    • yellowdoggranny October 17, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      you all look soo cute..I have a great idea for a costume this year…I’m dying a sheet brown and dark green and gluing pieces of corn, lettuce, etc. all over it and making a halo out of aluminum foil…I’m going as a holy shit.
      I love being an old fart..can do anything I want.

  10. Diane October 17, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    GRRRRRRRRRRRRRR……..Love the Tiger costume…..especially since I’m from the Detroit area…..GO DETROIT TIGERS!

  11. Julienne Caudron October 17, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    Can we please get more of these?? They are completely and utterly preciously priceless. Thanks so much for sharing.

  12. Claudia October 18, 2012 at 1:40 am #

    Great pictures! Missed you. Thanks for sharing!

  13. Jackie October 18, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    Such cute pictures! I am glad that you didn’t get your sisters costume after this year, lol. I swear that the boy in the superman costume looks just like my son with his! Since I made his costume, each of my three boys had to wear it just as soon as it fit them, lol. Thanks for sharing, Jorge!

  14. anthonyjrapino October 18, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    Ha, very cool. I love this time of year. The best!

  15. Heather October 18, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    Um – I’m not scary – why are my comments still awaiting moderation? Commented over 24 hours ago….

    • Jorge Garcia October 19, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Sorry about that. But if you’ll notice that it’s actually been 24 days between my last two posts, I think you’ll have to understand that I don’t get around to approving comments as often as I’d like.

  16. Heather October 20, 2012 at 1:08 am #

    But it’s discouraging to see others’ posts make it through the doorway before mine – many times hours ahead of mine- is it for technical reasons, i.e. they “follow” your blog and their posts go through automatically while mine need manual administration? I do understand that you are a busy guy, I’m just questioning the fairness of others’ posts going through while mine do not, when the content is so innocuous. If it’s just a technical issue and something I can control, then I would understand.

    • Jorge Garcia October 20, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

      I think I just have to approve you once and your posts go through. Those others grandfathered in from being accepted beforehand.

  17. Jeff October 20, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    Just saw your “giant” photo in the latest TV Guide. Very cool. I’m not a regular viewer of Once Upon A Time, but I’ll tune in for sure next Sunday.

  18. MARTA(BCN) October 21, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    you look so cute🙂

  19. maki October 21, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    KAWAII!! (it’s mean cute in Japanese. not HAWAII.)

Leave a Reply

