It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

5 Dec

Today I went to the German Christmas Market in Vancouver.

IMG_1011

Yeah I know it says “Vancouver Christmas Market,” but everyone I know referred to it as the GERMAN Christmas Market. So I wasn’t going to argue the point.

I had some Maple Taffy.

IMG_1008

Where they pour hot maple syrup over crushed ice or snow and then twirl it onto a tongue depressor.

The result is an icy chewy, caramelly candy that’s pretty damn awesome.

IMG_1010

And picked up a pickle to hang on the tree when I get home.

Photo on 12-5-12 at 8.37 PM

Good times.

37 Responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas”

  1. Tammie December 5, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Everyone should have a ‘Good Luck Pickle’ on their tree!

  2. ratmando December 5, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    Beware of your pickle.. if it gets gerkin’d by a chiweenie I hear that it’s going to be 4 more weeks of dog poop. (sending you and beth a gifty soon!)

  3. Claudia December 6, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    It looks like a good time. What is with the pickle? Does it have any special meaning or did you just think it was cool?

    • Amber December 6, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      Go to Wikipedia and look up “Christmas pickle”. You’re supposed to hide it on the tree and whoever finds it gets a reward or good luck for the next year.

  4. bullion December 6, 2012 at 3:20 am #

    As a german, who lives near the capital of german christmas markets (Nuremberg), let me tell you this: until now I’ve neither seen giant gingerbread men nor christmas tree pickles… but perhaps I missed the latest trend…😉

  5. Jean December 6, 2012 at 5:14 am #

    Let the youngest in the family hang the pickle. And hang it last on the tree. That’s for good luck. German tradition.

    • Mick December 7, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

      I’ve heard it’s a German tradition to hide the pickle in the tree and whoever finds it gets a prize. Might differ according to region I guess.

  6. Catherine December 6, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    Perhaps you should come to Germany, visit a Christmas market and see for yourself if the one in Vancouver can be compared to the ones over here.🙂

  7. Kristin December 6, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    A pickle can also have another special significance for the young woman in the household.

  8. Jeff December 6, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    I wonder if those tongue depressors were purchased used from a nearby medical clinic.

  9. Katherine December 6, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    Thanks for sharing this! I live in Vancouver so I’ll have to check it out. I hadn’t heard of it (just moved up here this summer). My mom hangs a pickle ornament on the tree each year and the first “kid” to find it (I’m in my 20’s so I use the word kid loosely) gets a little prize. It’s one of my favorite traditions!

  10. Beth Shady December 6, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Man, this kinda bummed me out that I’m not up there with ya😦

  11. jennY December 6, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    i need to hide my pickle!

  12. Shannon December 6, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    That maple syrup candy is right out of Little House on the Prairie books, which I read about a bajillion times. I always wanted to try it. I’m so jealous right now!!

  13. Patty December 6, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    The pickle always makes me think of PDQ Bach’s music. “Put the pickle down, Uncle John!”🙂

  14. Vancouver Christmas (@VanChristmas) December 6, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    Jorge, thanks so much for coming by the Vancouver Christmas Market (or German) it’s all debatable after three years. Glad that you had an amazing time, and that we hope that you’ll be able to come visit us next year. Really happy that you picked up a pickle! The legends of pickles and the way they started have become as interesting as stories of Santa Claus. Happy holidays! And Holly and Jolly the gingerbread people say “hi!”

  15. Patrons of the Pit December 6, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    See what happens when you show the world your pickle! Jorge, Jorge…

    Long time fans. We miss you on TV dude. Get back to work!

  16. Bear December 7, 2012 at 3:31 am #

    I encountered fresh maple syrup candy while a student at NMU…it’s a wonderful treat, and vegan, at that!🙂

  17. Becca December 7, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    A tongue depressor?!! How horrifying! I don’t even do popsicle sticks. {Shudder} I could NOT eat something off a tongue depressor!!

  18. yellowdoggranny December 7, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    yeah, yeah, Christmas, but lets get to the important stuff…you were an answer on Jeopardy yesterday..the question was Hurley and dr. what ever your name was on Alcatraz(sorry I’m old I forget) and I’m yelling who is Jorge Garcia over and over..no one got it..but me..ha merry christmas

  19. Jules December 7, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    Are you going to play find the pickle on Jorge later???

  20. Anka December 7, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Nope, no Xmas-pickles in Germany. I love the VCM (especially as I am not going to visit my family this christmas, this year) but: It’s like 10 percent of what a real German Christmas Market is. But a Glühwein after a shopping spree in town, this is what pre-Christmas time is about🙂

  21. Diane December 9, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    We have a good luck pickle for our tree too….and a cricket on our hearth for good luck. I hope you and Beth have a very MERRY CHRISTMAS and 2013 is a very good year for you!

  22. Leslie December 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    At Walmart today, someone had graffitied the vending machine and it said “RIP Nu Nu”. I like to think it was a tribute to your adorable puppy, may she rest in peace.

  23. Tena Clark Faruque December 12, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    That candy looks awesome! Glad you had a great time.

  24. Jeff December 21, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    mmmmmm……maple pickle

  25. MARTA(BCN) December 23, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    Se ve todo delicioso!!! perdon por no escribir mucho, ultimamente voy con mucho trabajo por arreglar

  26. James Hernandez December 25, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    Jorge,

    MMMM looks delicious!!!

  27. Jeff December 26, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Meet BeeBee: http://www.wimp.com/chihuahuawheelchair/

  28. Donna Siano December 28, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Thanks for the picture!

  29. Jenea Kaitaz January 3, 2013 at 3:20 am #

    Jorge and Bethany!!! Happy Moldavian New Year! ;)))

  30. ebohemian January 4, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    Happy New Year Jorge, Bethany & pups!

  31. Ida May January 9, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

    Beware of pickles. They are dangerous. Anyone that ate a pickle in 1768 is dead today. Coincidence? I think not.

  32. Mrcelofan January 10, 2013 at 2:25 pm #
  33. Emily January 16, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

    It’s beginning to look like you need to post something else.. dang!

    • Jorge Garcia January 27, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

      Yes I know I’m sorry. I’ve been neglecting all of this stuff. I’ll try not to let go so long anymore. Well I’m not going to try but I’ll try to try.

Leave a Reply

