A Great Gift is “Handy”

27 Jan

My favorite gifts tend to be the ones I use. I love it when I reach for something on a regular basis and then remind myself that it was a present from someone. Today as I grabbed this oven mitt which, as you can see, has seen better days. IMG_1112

Someone (I’m not going to mention any names, Beth) reached into the toaster oven with it and touched the top heating coils with it.

IMG_1113

As much as it should be retired I can’t bring myself to do it. Here it is in its cleaner and less burnt days.

dscf1958

It was made by a fan who sent it to us post rat incident.

It’s still the first oven mitt I grab although I’m  not as confident about its effectiveness.

22 Responses to “A Great Gift is “Handy””

  1. Nick Vitto January 27, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    After playing Dishonored for 11 hours last night, the last thing I want to see is flying rats.

  2. John Alexander January 27, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    Good thing you didn’t rat-out Beth.

  3. Jean Schubert January 27, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    Did Beth burn the mitt accidentally on purpose because she didn’t want to be reminded of the Rat Incident?

  4. Tammie January 27, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    I have patched my favorite oven mitts using a pair my son’s of old jeans that had been outgrown and relegated to the giveaway bag. (The thicker fabric makes up for any lost padding.) Buy Beth some wooden tongs to sit next to the toaster and fix your mitt. 🙂

  5. Lurkertype January 27, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

    I’m glad to see someone else keeps fun oven mitts after their best days.

  6. Donna Siano January 27, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

    Just don’t burn yourself! We miss seeing you post and seeing you on TV. I’m waiting to see you again on Once Upon A Time. Your a great Giant!!!!

  7. donna January 27, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    i have a mitten from my college days in the ’70s that reads ‘Who invited all these tacky people?” i still use it.. it is STILL my motto! ( ok ‘attitude’)

  8. Claudia January 28, 2013 at 2:35 am #

    So good to see a new post from you. I got a major kick out of the first comment. 🙂

    • donna January 28, 2013 at 7:51 am #

      thanx!

  9. mspatty1 January 28, 2013 at 5:52 am #

    I do that too, Jorge! I have potholders my secret Santa gave me at least 25 years ago. They were the first ones that were only mine–not hand-me-downs. Funny, isn’t it? I do that with coffee mugs, too…

  10. henrywasserman January 28, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    File under: “If rats had wings”

  11. kate c. January 28, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    Yay–You’re back. Totally forgot about the rat incident–I’m sure Beth hasn’t.

  12. Bear January 29, 2013 at 3:06 am #

    Get some silicone mitts for actually sticking your hands into hazardous environments, and save the cool mitts for serving hot dishes at the table! 🙂

    I learned the hard way–burned up many oven mitts that were gifts and I loved by actually using them in the oven. Oy! 😉

  13. gigi January 29, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    Its OK Beth, I did this to one of my moms favorite brand new mitts on thanksgiving- those drasted coils!!

  14. CoffeeCrisp January 30, 2013 at 6:31 am #

    Almost as much fun as leaving an oven mitt on the stove and turning on the wrong burner. I have a couple of cookbooks with stove-top ring marks.

  15. Jeff January 30, 2013 at 9:22 am #

    You could always replace it with an Ove’ Glove.

  16. yellowdoggranny January 30, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    you’ll use it burn your hand…THEN you’ll get anew one.

  17. maki January 30, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

    hello! I don’t understand English well,but I’m happy to see new post.
    long time no see.

  18. Kathy Frederick January 31, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Har. I have oven mitts that have seen better days, but it’s just because I’m a very lazy person and haven’t replaced them yet. I would like a winged rat oven mitt. So what will you do? Ask the gift giver to make you another? You should. I’m sure they’d do it! Incidentally, that rat video was one of the first things I found on your blog. Beth is adorable. Go easy on her🙂

  19. Matthew Wong February 3, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    didn’t beth learn to use wood chopsticks when you were living in Hawaii? that is the best way to get toast out and not get electricuted

  20. Jeff February 6, 2013 at 7:51 am #

    Looks like they ran out of Little Caesar costumes: http://www.wimp.com/takingover/

  21. Terri February 11, 2013 at 7:45 am #

    Hah, that has many reminders. I became a crazy rat lady because of you two. As well, as a person with Celiac, I gave up on bread many years ago, but had gotten some English Muffins recently and they likely would have ended up as moldy forgotten muffins but you reminded me, so I just put one in the toaster. Now, I just hope I don’t burn my oven mitt getting the silly thing out!

Leave a Reply

