It’s Parrot Season Again

8 Feb

IMG_0331

I don’t know if I mentioned this before. But a few years ago we discovered that our house lied in the path of a parrot migration route. We learned this one day when Beth called animal control thinking that a bunch of parrots had escaped from somewhere because they were all in our neighbor’s tree.

I like walking outside my door and hearing their chatter.

IMG_0342

It’s become one of those things that indicate another year has gone by. I don’t know where they’re going or where they’ve come from but seeing them pause for a few days in that tree always makes me happy.

IMG_0349

They’re like our neighborhood’s version of the swallows of Capistrano.

30 Responses to “It’s Parrot Season Again”

  1. admoneat February 8, 2013 at 12:47 am #

    Jorge, I’ve lived in West L.A. most of my life, and the parrots use to come thru every year. I kind of got so use to it, that until your post, I hadn’t even noticed I haven’t seen them in several years. Guess they like your house better than mine😉. Send them my love!

    • Michael February 11, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

      Beautiful California. For more extensive footage and specified detailed information on the varied parrots of California visit a Youtube channel dedicated to these birds known as Californiaflocks.

  2. John Alexander February 8, 2013 at 12:54 am #

    As a bird lover, I am very envious.

  3. claudia333 February 8, 2013 at 2:35 am #

    This is so cool!!! 🙂

    • Kim W. (GroovyMom) February 8, 2013 at 5:00 am #

      Loved this! And the video drove one of my cats CRAZY! :o) He was looking all around trying to figure out what was going on. Great for a morning giggle!!! Thanks for sharing the happy chatter!

  4. Sean Slypig February 8, 2013 at 4:47 am #

    I grew up in west Los Angeles by Mar Vista and we used to have the same thing happen. It was pretty cool when they came and visited.

  5. Tom BudarTom Budar February 8, 2013 at 5:08 am #

    I found info on your birds at http://www.californiaparrotproject.org/mitred_parakeet.html
    By the way, its good to hear from you again.

  6. Tasha M. Goldsmith February 8, 2013 at 5:16 am #

    Totally reminds me of my Conure Kumquat (he got that name because he would babble a lot with something that sounded as such. I would be the idiot trying to climb in the tree to capture one.

  7. garricks February 8, 2013 at 5:50 am #

    I love this! But I tend to like annual things.🙂

  8. Blaine February 8, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    Beautiful!

  9. Jeff February 8, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    mmmmmm…parrot

  10. ratmando February 8, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    I miss reading your blogs!! (I still haven’t even sent a gift for christmas yet.. I’m a lagger this year!) I lived in South Pasadena and did the same thing when I saw a flock of them on our porch… enjoying a snack of grapes I had left on the table. They’re so cool. Glad to see I’m not the only one who loves them!!

  11. Catherine February 8, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    Jorge
    still living in the VALLEY? Then sadly its not migration, its escapism. A bunch of parrots escaped and have bred and now flocks of them fly the skies. Reminds me of the wild ones in the old Gold Coast of Australia. But keep watch, they are here to stay!

  12. Sam Grant February 8, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    http://www.californiaparrotproject.org/id_guide.html

    There is a large flock that lives in Malibu. Maybe there’s something in your neighbor’s trees that they like to eat.

    Pasadena, California has a large, non-indigenous population of naturalized parrots. According to the “Parrot Project of Los Angeles”, the parrots are of at least five species.Residents have come to enjoy the birds as part of their unique city’s culture,and like other SoCal residents they have become “local icons” to the citizens there. Many theories surround the mystery of how the parrots landed in Pasadena and claimed the area as their own. A widely accepted story is that they were part of the stock that were set free for their survival from the large pet emporium at Simpson’s Garden Town on East Colorado Boulevard, which burned down in 1959.

  13. insidedog February 8, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    We saw those every year when we lived in Texas! Apparently someone started a wild bird population when they let their pets escape. There would be hundreds of them sitting on the telephone wires at dusk! Crazy lines of green birds!

  14. Jill February 8, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    I wish my place had parrots!

  15. Marta February 8, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

    Where I live parrots arrive sometimes. They get in windows sill and beck wood. But they aren´t migrating, they scape I don´t know from where…

  16. Celandine February 8, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    Utterly Cool. I hope they are migratory, even if it is from one bit of non-native California to another. I had an encouter with a BIG tom turkey the other day. I’d seen tukeys in the more rural areas, but usually just hens. This was a strutting male with all feathers furled at the driveway to my condo parking lot. There may have been a lady around, but I didn’t see her. Encounters with nature are wonderful!
    Celandine

  17. joseph February 8, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    ask your library to find you the 2005 movie “the wild parrots of telegraph hill”. documentary.

  18. Patty February 9, 2013 at 6:28 am #

    That’s really interesting–I never think about parrots migrating! One year in DeKalb, IL we had such a long stretch of fog that some kind of parakeet that didn’t usually come so far north got lost and ended up in OUR trees!

  19. thecoffeegod February 9, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    New Orleans has a flock of escapees as well. http://www.squidoo.com/wild-quaker-parrots-of-new-orleans

    I think birds are pretty cool.

  20. yellowdoggranny February 10, 2013 at 12:15 am #

    my cat Dexter would like our house to be in the path of all those birds…nommm.

  21. Moonchime (@Moonchime) February 10, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    Hi Jorge. What a beautiful thing to witness. Hubby and I were fortunate to see a red parrot in our Vegas neighborhood one day. I snapped a photo and it quickly left–never to return. It is a sight I will never forget.

  22. Tammie February 10, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    When I was a kid, the Monarch Butterflies used to migrate through the field behind our Beach house, but then their migration muct have shifted because they stopped showing up. It was very pretty and it felt magical to see a field of butterflies. Parrots would be fun too. I used to stop and watch the red headed woodpecker that lived in the tree at the back of my Mom’s property, but the last hurricane blew the tree down. At first I worried about the woodpecker, but then I saw him sittng on a fence. He must have found a new home elsewhere, because after that, I never saw him again.

  23. Tammie February 10, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    Also, my son that has Autism is fascinated with Parrots.

  24. sharon zimmer February 10, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

    very cool- I didn’t know that……We’re bird crazy over here too!

  25. Diane February 11, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Interesting! I never knew parrots migrated in LA area. I guess I always think of parrots being in the Caribbean…lol They are such beautiful birds. So lucky to have them right in your backyard….

  26. SoCalParrot May 14, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    They are not migrating, they just forage for food in different areas at different times o the year. Early spring they all get together to roost and then eventually pair up the have babies. These are not escaped pets but are the descendants of wild caught birds. Many many separate events resulted in the flocks we not have today. San Diego alone has over 50 flocks.

Leave a Reply

