What I learned last week at the American Museum of Natural History

20 Mar

The dioramas have a flair for the dramatic

Dramatic3

Yup that’s a moose mid-stab on another moose.

 

Dramatic

When I came upon this display I thought there was a mistake because I saw the lynx but no rabbit even though both were listed.  But all you gotta do is follow the paw prints, just like that cat is doing…

 

DramaSharks

Swim faster little Turt!
Drama4This one might be my favorite although it was in pitch black almost. Just like those old timey sea monster pictures.

Dramatics

This one I’m not so sure about. Am I to believe that this early man didn’t notice the cave with five hyenas behind him? How stealthy can hyenas be anyway when they’re always laughing all the time. What the hell is he bending down for at this inopportune moment? Not to tie his shoelaces.

14 Responses to “What I learned last week at the American Museum of Natural History”

  1. Jean Schubert March 20, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    I grew up in NYC and the Mus of Nat Hist is one of my favorite places in the world. Ive visited it dozens of times. Never noticed the caveman doing his business though!

  2. sethbang March 20, 2013 at 8:33 am #

    Thanks for sharing this, Jorge. There is a really cool book you might enjoy called Windows on Nature: The Great Habitat Dioramas of the AMNH (2006, Stephen Quinn, Abrams/AMNH publisher). It is full of photos and stories about the people behind the exhibits. It’s like a backstage tour of a film set. The moose exhibit was build in 1939/40. Alas, there is no article about the inattentive primitive man diorama. I develop exhibits (among other things) and this stuff is of interest to me, too. Cheers.

  3. ratmando March 20, 2013 at 9:08 am #

    ah yes, to poop or not to poop, while something is behind you laughing.. that is the question

  4. jeancave March 20, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    Dioramas to die for indeed!

  5. debbieloun March 20, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    Thank you for the lessons. You made me smile this morning.

  6. Jeff March 20, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    Speaking of American History, tomorrow is the 50th anniversary of the closing of Alcatraz.

  7. Joey Tracy March 20, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    I appreciate your insights. Those are the things I’d notice there, too.
    p.s. You have a namesake. My sisters started following you when Lost started and now you have a small dog named, Hurley Jorge Garcia. We think you’re pretty awesome!

  8. annie March 20, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    I thought it was a Dharma initiative scientist and his pet polar bear🙂

  9. Claudia March 21, 2013 at 1:41 am #

    OMG you are such a pisser. By the time I got to the caveman I was hysterical.
    Thanks for sharing, you always make my day!

  10. pq March 21, 2013 at 5:13 am #

    I am so embarrassed to say that I can’t find that damned rabbit!

  11. Becca March 21, 2013 at 6:23 am #

    He’s like, “Wait a minute…Is this hyena poop on the ground?”

  12. yellowdoggranny March 21, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    wow…how cool.

  13. Annie March 22, 2013 at 4:49 am #

    That guy can’t be our ancestor, how could he survive long enough to reproduce?!? Maybe we’re really descended from hyenas…

  14. MARia(BCN) March 22, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    Woooow!!! estos museos llegan a ser tan reales que a mi me dan un poco de miedo, thanks for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

