What I learned last week at the American Museum of Natural History (Part 2)

23 Mar

Africa. Has a shit-ton of deer.Deer4Deer10Deer9 Deer8 Deer7 Deer6 Deer5 Deer1 Deer2 Deer3

Honorable mention.IMG_1215

11 Responses to “What I learned last week at the American Museum of Natural History (Part 2)”

  1. ratmando March 23, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    my favorite deer variety is… the dik dik, as you’d guess.

  2. Jean March 23, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    I think they’re easy to shoot.

  3. midlifenatalie March 23, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Was that last one an Okapi? Those are my favorite. Years ago when I was addicted to playing Zoo Tycoon I always had Okapi exhibits. Does Zoo Tycoon even exist anymore??

  4. Tammie March 23, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    When my son was about 3, I took him to the Houston Museum of Natural Science. He kept pointing at the stuffed animals asking, “Is that one alive? Well, is that one alive?” After hearing “No” many times he asked, “Where are the alive animals?” I said, “At the zoo baby.”

    • toby March 23, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

      There’s a museum like that in Chicago, where I grew up. My dad told me not long ago that when I was little, I referred to it as “the zoo for dead animals.” Yuck, and true!

  5. KathyinMN March 24, 2013 at 5:11 am #

    Fun, love those exhibits. Thanks for posting your pics. If you ever get a day or two, head down to the wild animal park north of San Diego-you can see almost all the deer live and in person. (Its where they breed animals for the San Diego Zoo.) Like going on a mini-safari.

  6. Jeff March 24, 2013 at 6:26 am #

    Does that museum have a polar bear diorama?

  7. Kristianna March 24, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    I’m reading this with my first coffee on Sunday and, dang if you didn’t make me snort a little with your astute observations on African fauna. Thanks for that.

  8. mspatty1 March 24, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    Not a dearth of deer in dere!😛

  9. Magine March 26, 2013 at 3:30 am #

    I love dioramas. If I was rich, I’d have dioramas in my home.

Leave a Reply

