What I learned last week at the American Museum of Natural History (Part 3)

24 Mar

Although the exotic birds get really nice dioramas with painted backgrounds…IMG_1252

 

(I think this one’s eating an apple.)Easteregg2

 

(And these guys are on an Easter Egg hunt.)

Easter egg unt

… The local birds? Not so much.NYBirds1NYbirds2

Same with the Mammals.IMG_1210
IMG_1356
NYMammalsNY Mammals2

These look like they’re getting arrested.NYMammals3

8 Responses to “What I learned last week at the American Museum of Natural History (Part 3)”

  1. Jen Anderson March 24, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    Yeah, animals that weren’t shot by Teddy Roosevelt get no respect.

  2. yellowdoggranny March 24, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    I’d rather a hand drawn picture or a nice photograph then them killing the animals ..bastids.

  3. ratmando March 24, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    I have chinchillas. Not just one or two.. I have 10 chinchillae(?). They’re so sweet, and here in the desert, I’ve fed wild hare nearly every night, been a witness to a roadrunner outsmarting a sand squirrel, and even played with wild asses on the red rocks. Life is good for animals that are around us.. I am so saddened each time I hear of a species lost to “ancient medicine”, food, or clothing- without respect to the genotype, or the full use of the complete animal, as some cultures ensure. So important that natural history museums are allowed to share what could still be in our world had man not destroyed them. I have really enjoyed your visit, Jorge, and I’m sure your doggies got extra love when you got home.

  4. Donna Siano March 24, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    Love it! Thanks for sharing. I feel like I was there with you guys. It didn’t cost me a dime. Thanks again.

    • Jean Schubert March 24, 2013 at 10:36 am #

      Yeah, Donna, it was just like being back at the museum again for me, only this time seeing it through someone else’s eyes!

  5. jeancave March 24, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

    You seem really taken with the slightly cheesy dioramas. I have enjoyed these posts.

  6. Debbie March 24, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

    The animals in the diorama’s looked like they had dignity both in life and death. The “local” animals looked they were nuisance animals that they shot, no dignity in those poor animals at all. Makes me feel like it would be better to visit the other locations more than New York State.

  7. Tammie March 24, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    Poor dead critters. How undignifed.

Leave a Reply

