What I learned last week at the American Museum of Natural History (Part 5)

26 Mar

IMG_1238

Quite literally.

HTGetBit2

This was one of my favorite displays.

HTGetBit3

Different scenarios of people right at the moment before they get bitten by a snake.

HTGetBit7

Especially the guy who steps on one.

HTGetBit4But the  pièce de résistance is a life sized child.

HTGetBit5

Who has just been bitten.

HTGetBit6

Waiting to die.

13 Responses to “What I learned last week at the American Museum of Natural History (Part 5)”

  1. Sam Grant March 26, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    ‘Cause he doesn’t have a Sawyer Sanke Bite Kit
    http://www.mountainside-medical.com/products/Sawyer-Snake-Bite-Kit.html

  2. debbieloun March 26, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

    I’m truly enjoying these lessons.

  3. Patty March 27, 2013 at 4:24 am #

    I know there’s a joke to be made here, but I’m stuck!🙂 Pretend I said something funny…

  4. athena March 27, 2013 at 6:07 am #

    Is it terrible that I am laughing? oh my gosh. I’m glad for the lessons, though!!

  5. jeancave March 27, 2013 at 6:42 am #

    While in Australia I developed a whole new Snake and Spider awareness. I honed a sort of sixth sense /hearing thingy that could detect their presence.

  6. Voltaire March 28, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    Why’s the guy stepping over the log wearing lederhosen? Is that one of the requirements? Like, snakes only bite Germans?

  7. gigi March 29, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    Yeah well, its NY, one never knows what bizarre things will turn up. Check out Central Park. Between May & early June they have “birding” you can check out all sorts of migrating birds, they offer tours.(Brig your binoculars) Great time to be in the City & I was fascinated to find-out that they have such a wide variety of exotics that stop in for a break.

  8. Bear March 30, 2013 at 1:31 am #

    It’s a nice guide if you want to avoid being accidentally bitten, but a lot of serious and potentially deadly snake bites are caused by people deliberately messing with dangerous snakes.

    (Dom Monighan, do you read this?!? Stay safe!)

  9. Jill April 3, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    This is hilarious!!!

  10. zookyworld May 15, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    So sad that he’s waiting to die. Looks like a long wait.

  11. Becky Nelson November 7, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    LOL I’m dying!!!

Leave a Reply

