Backyard Garden Project 2013

26 May

Hey folks I apologize for my inconsistency in keeping up this blog.  The way my life has been moving lately I’ve spent less and less time in front of my computer. But I’m aiming toward a new goal of at least sharing something here once a week.

So…

Thought I’d share my garden junk for this year.

First off I went a little nuts with tomato plants. IMG_1689I bought seven. And I’m already getting a few fruits. IMG_1690

I also turned my fountain into a planting box again.IMG_1723 The main reason was that as a fountain it was just a breeding ground for mosquitoes.

I planted a bunch of herbs and leafy greens keeping the top tier as a birdbath.IMG_1724

But because I mixed compost with my dirt some unexpected invaders have been popping up. IMG_1725I’m pretty sure a lot of these guys are more tomatoes sprung from seeds in my compost. I took a few out and planted them in the front  yard. IMG_1719Figure I have nothing to lose if they produce or not.

Which brings me to my Frankenstein plant.IMG_1692 I’ve had a struggling citrus tree in the yard for a while.

IMG_1693

So when it came time to add another tree this guy got booted to make space for an avocado. I had him moved to a large pot to see if I gave him a controlled environment of nutrient-rich soil maybe he’d make something of himself. Well the compost took off and all kinds of plants started sprouting.

IMG_1695

And it appears the odds on favorite is the squash.IMG_1726

I’ll keep you posted when I harvest.

22 Responses to “Backyard Garden Project 2013”

  1. tlc2u May 26, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    Looks great!! Your green thumb is much better than mine. 😛

    How are you doing otherwise?

  2. crankypants May 26, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    the fountain as a planter is brilliant!

  3. Donna Siano May 26, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    Wow I just love it. We are doing the same. Lots of tomatoes. I have taken a big square water bottle and cut out part of one side. I planted green onions. Thanks for the post.

  4. Gwen Nastasi May 26, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    Looking very impressive, I especially like the fountain
    /birdbath. You can harvest and set up a road side fresh produce market for your neighbors!! Green thumb is added to your list of accomplishments!! Well done!! Should have tried this on the “island” LOL

  5. Beth Shady May 26, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

    You’re so cute, babes🙂

  6. debbieloun May 26, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    I just planted my three tomato plants. Here in North Dakota, it becomes safe to start a garden around Memorial Day; otherwise there’s still a chance of frost. There’s a pretty good chance your many tomato plants will out perform my three.😉

  7. Jean Schubert May 26, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    You feeding the rats again?

  8. sharon zimmer May 26, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

    THE FOUNTAIN TURNED OUT GREAT!

  9. Caroline May 26, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

    Spring has been teasing us in the Netherlands. Nature is confused. I did start peas. There are few things as delicious as fresh peas! Your plants are looking great. I love the smell of fresh tomatoes! Happy Gardening! It’s a great way to relax!

  10. Bear May 27, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    You know what they say….”You give a man a fish and he eats for a day. You teach a man to garden and the whole neighborhood gets tomatoes!” 🙂

    Love the garden!

    As far as spending less time on the computer goes, I hope that means that there are some new projects that we’ll be seeing in the near future! Tell us!

  11. Jeff May 27, 2013 at 6:10 am #

    So where’s the beanstalk?

  12. toby May 27, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    that is so awesome! I’m trying hard to stay on the side of inspired, and not downright jealous🙂

  13. Teri May 27, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    I love your garden! Also, what Jeff said – no beans?

  14. Suzie Q. Wacvet (Sue Eckhardt) May 28, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    You’re an inspiration! Or you would be if I didn’t suffer from chronic fatigue.😦 Maybe one day I’ll plant some vegetables.

  15. LB May 28, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    Never ever apologize for having a life away from the computer screen!

  16. hayleyscomett May 28, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

    Wow, you’re going to have tomatoes coming out your ears!! Garden looks great!! What a great idea for the fountain, good job!!

  17. leendadll May 29, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

    love the fountain. i went a little nuts on the tomatoes too – they’re just so dang easy to grow!

  18. James Hernandez May 30, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    Jorge,

    You’ve got a green thumb! Oh wait thats a squash!!!😛

  19. ratmando May 31, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    It’s so cool when the internet is broken and we can go outside and play. I wish that would happen more often. I remember there was this place called ahm.. what was it… uhm.. a beeeacsch? something..had sand on it? and these people woud wear napkins, and run around in this stuff called wayvers or something, or ride on these long things called swapburds, and smurf?
    When there were things called uhm.. I think they’re still around, called, trees, and they had branches, that didn’t have malware, you could climb them without using a router. I mean with your hands, and not using a wand!

  20. Katherine June 1, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    I’m so glad you showed us some of the stuff you’ve been up to. I love this blog, I like the way you describe things🙂

  21. leendadll June 4, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    I got my first ripe “yellow” (more like orange) tomatoes over the weekend!

  22. K July 19, 2013 at 5:48 am #

    looks good!😀

Leave a Reply

