The Littlest Batch

2 Jun

I am sucker for homemade jams. In fact if I am anywhere and someone is selling their homemade jar of preserves, I will buy it. This results in a lot of jars traveling inside my packed tennis shoes whenever I return from vacation.

This year I wanted to do something special with the kumquats that have been growing on my tree.

IMG_1741

So I went online to find a good marmalade recipe.

IMG_1702

This is hands down the most labor intensive cooking I’ve ever done. Even more than the “Rat Dropping Bread.”

IMG_1706

 

See kumquats are little but they have seeds that are same size as a regular orange.

And no one wants seeds in their marmalade so you have to remove them all.

IMG_1707

And… did I mention they are little?

kumquatorange

 

The recipe I went with uses honey and mirin for sweetness and moisture. The recipe Beth was hoping I’d go with was one that used Maker’s Mark.  (That recipe also said not to bother seeding the kumquats so maybe next year.)

IMG_1710

I ended up with two jars worth of marmalade.

IMG_1712

Which I jarred myself (first time ever).

IMG_1713

I had a little extra which went straight to the fridge.

IMG_1714

If you’re interested you can find the recipe here. Now that I look at this I realized it called for Shochu. Oh well I used mirin instead.

And the use of honey for for sweetness really does give it a lighter floral quality. It’s pretty great. And since it was literally the “fruit of  my labor” it’s all the sweeter.IMG_1739



 

31 Responses to “The Littlest Batch”

  1. toby June 2, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    Wow that’s awesome!

  2. KathyinMN June 2, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    Wow-that looks labor intensive. Did the process intensify or soften the kumquat flavor?

  3. tlc2u June 2, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    That looks great! I’ll have to try it.

  4. Caroline June 2, 2013 at 10:02 am #

    Yum! I love marmelade. I made bluebarb jam with rhubarb from my garden yesterday. I made some homemade scones too & my boys ate nearly 1/2 a jar! I’ve never seen kumquats in Holland. Looks great!

  5. niven June 2, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    i make jam all summer long! we visit local farmer’s markets and get locally grown fruits. our favorite to make is peach blueberry with honey to sweeten. oddly enough, my fiance said that he fell in love while we were making jam. canning is such a great thing to do. once you top, ya can’t stop! (bad pun)

  6. Magi June 2, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    Looks great. Hard to tell from pic, but make sure you have a rack on the bottom of your pot. The water needs to circulate underneath the jars, too. There’s nothing like the satisfaction of hearing canning jars ping as they seal.

  7. Amanda June 2, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    Whoa – I’m impressed! I’ve never had kumquats before but it sounds tasty.

  8. Gwen Nastasi June 2, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    Absolutely awesome!! Looks delicious!

  9. ratmando June 2, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    Yknow, it’s rhubarb season– I love me some Rhubarb strawberry, and rhubarb-lemmon (or chardonnay grape) versions of this recipe. So good. My doc put me on a very high grain, protein, fiber diet recently and many of your recipes are on it.. thanks for that!! Not Vegan- but Vegan with a steak on top :0)

  10. hayleyscomett June 2, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    Yummmm, that looks divine!

  11. jeancave June 3, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    In Cornwall UK we traditionally put our home-made jam on first and clotted cream on top

  12. sharon zimmer June 3, 2013 at 7:15 am #

    save some for me- looks amazing!

  13. missscarlett June 3, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    I have an excellent book called Small Batch Preserving — the recipes are awesome and ideal for one or two people. My favourite is the Kiwi Lime marmalade — I call it Morning Margarita😉 I love kumquats — been awhile since I had some…think I’ll be hunting then down at my market.

    • Caroline June 3, 2013 at 11:04 am #

      I recently bought that book used on Amazon! It’s a great book. That’s where I found the recipe for the bluebarb jam. Really yummy!

  14. LuAnn B June 3, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    Way to go! It looks delicious.

  15. Donna Siano June 3, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    Wow you are a man of many talents. Let me know if your ever up my way in Lake Hughes or Lake Elizabeth. I make great Strawberry jam. I’ll have to try your recipe. Thanks for the update.

  16. Claudia June 4, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    That looks awesome! It looks like it took a long time to get it all done but it sure looks like it was worth it! You truly are a man of many talents🙂

  17. leendadll June 4, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    Niiiice!
    My mother used to can all the time – including our month-long vacations by trailer (can you imagine all that chopping & prep & boiling in an 18′ trailer with a family of 4!?!) but I never learned the skill.

  18. Diane June 4, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    It looks so yummy!! It took a lot of effort but you did a good job!

  19. Chinny June 4, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

    Well done! Great show of initiative.

  20. yellowdoggranny June 5, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    I would think you could make them and then strain the seeds out????

  21. maki June 6, 2013 at 3:17 am #

    So nice! What’s music were you listening while cutting?

    We are useing kumquats syrup or candy for sore throat in Japan.

    Japanese Kumquat candy Commercial:

    きんかん: KINKAN:kumquat
    はちみつ: HACHIMITSU:honey

  22. Jeff June 6, 2013 at 3:21 am #

    mmmmmm……kummmquuuats

  23. Silvia June 6, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    Hi Jorge!!🙂 if i can give you an advice, next time cut away the white part, the one that’s a little bit furry, because that gives a bitter taste, so the marmelade well be sweeter!

  24. James Hernandez June 9, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    Jorge,

    Awesome! Marmalade is my second favorite (oops favourite — Canadian spelling) jam/preserve. Nothing beats raspberry!!!!

  25. micki June 9, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    Looks wonderful! I tried to make a Tangerine Marmalade that didn’t set, But it still tastes great as a Tangerine syrup!

  26. CL June 9, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    Wish I could do something like this, but I’m not to be trusted in the kitchen. I somehow managed to poison myself when I made dinner one time. It was a microwave dinner. Yeah. Wrap your head around THAT one.

  27. pq June 14, 2013 at 5:23 am #

    Well, you did it, Jorge. You got me to finally get off my buttocks and do something I’ve been wanting to do for years but have always been a little afraid of: CAN. The whole sterilizing business always seemed so intimidating to me, but after seeing your pictures and how you bravely and successfully canned for the first time, I got up the courage to do it myself, and now have one and a half pints of homemade sour cherry jam, made from cherries off our own tree. (I’m blogging about it today.) Thanks, Jorge!

  28. pq June 14, 2013 at 7:37 am #

    Here’s my canning adventure. http://www.pqandmb.blogspot.com/2013/06/the-cherries-are-saved.html

  29. Anna August 18, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

    I just made some watermelon-lime jam last week. It’s really good. Yours looks great. Canning is intimidating the first time. You got over the hurdle and now can can anything!

  30. Gabriel September 28, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

    Aqui en argentin a esos son Quinotos, el dulce es rico, pero medio amargo al final, tambien se hace helado (Kinoto ice cream)

Leave a Reply

