I can’t believe I forgot to talk about the Parasite Museum

15 Jul

Man I haven’t posted here in forever. And here we are in July and I still have to close out my trip to 

from April.

Well I’d like to think I saved the best for last with my trip to the parasite museum.

The MEGURO PARASITOLOGICAL MUSEUM is small. You can do the whole thing in less than an hour. especially if you can’t read Japanese.

There are models and photos of parasites and the people who suffer from them. 

There was even a photo of a guy with this problem, but I opted for the cartoon instead.

And the place is chock full of jarred specimens. Some are borderline adorable. But the biggest attraction has to be the 8.8 meter long tape worm. Yes this was removed from a human being. And the best part about the display is there’s an 8.8 meter long piece of fabric ribbon to hold in your hands and try to swallow to relive the experience yourself (not recommended).

And the good news is this place has a gift shop. But it’s cash only so be sure to stop at an ATM if you plan on picking up a t-shirt.

31 Responses to “I can’t believe I forgot to talk about the Parasite Museum”

  1. ratmando July 15, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    Is it wrong that I find a hamster in a jar to be just too cute for words?

  2. claudia333 July 16, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    Very interesting and you made it hysterical as usual. I love that it is under an hour if you don’t speak Japanese. You are a pisser Jorge and I have missed you!!!
    Thanks for sharing!!!!

  3. anthonyjrapino July 16, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    Truly awesome. You simply can’t beat a good parasite museum.

  4. Mrcelofan July 16, 2012 at 6:30 am #

    ¿No había nada mejor para visitar ? ¿ Por ejemplo un karaoke ?

    Saludos.

  5. Tammie July 16, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    It is unusual for something to be both disgusting and hilarious. I gotta lean toward disgusting with the tapeworm though! (BLECH!!!)

  6. flight815down July 16, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Eww! LOL I’ve always wondered what a tape worm looked like. How DO they get them out of a person?

  7. Sue July 16, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    SNORK!!! And you went here why???

  8. sapha12 July 16, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    There may or may not have been a whole lot of winning right there. Shall it be the parasites? Or shall it be us? Only the future of victory shall decide.

    B-)

  9. Tom Budar July 16, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Man…and I thought my visit to the Museo della Tortura in Siena, Italy was offbeat…..

  10. Bill July 16, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    “Parasite” is such an ugly word. They prefer to be called “internal pets.”

    • Laurie Walsh July 19, 2012 at 7:55 am #

      We PC folks get a kick out this! Good work Bill

  11. Thais July 16, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    big fan of yours! I know I`ll be being repetitive, but you played Hugo Reyes so good. Well, just wanted you to know that yo have a big fan on Belém-Amazon-Brazil, its my first time watching Lost, so you can imagine how wonder I am.. anyway… I don`t even know if u`re going to read… Nice Blog! I`ll keep visiting. XOXO Thais

  12. Rhonda July 16, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Ok … I can’t imagine Beth being able to deal with this place at all. How did she like it?

  13. sharon zimmer July 17, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    worth the wait……..in an eeewwwww kinda way- eeewwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!!!

  14. Jeff July 17, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    I noticed that the G4 network aired the first few episodes of LOST last night. I prefer my DVD copies…no commercials.

  15. Patty July 17, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    Absolutely disgusting. Did you buy any gifts??

  16. James Hernandez July 17, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Jorge,

    You have a stronger constitution than most. If it was me I would have introduced the curators to my friend…..RALPH!

  17. Gina July 18, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Too funny. I don’t think Ill ever get to go too half these places you have visited. I appreciate your sharing. Its fun information.You guys must have a blast. BTW- I listen to this online radio station that plays music from TV & movies. They sometimes through music in from LOST, I sometimes get choked up relating the music to the scenes, (kind of sad music, but good). Pathetic? Yes, I guess so. I always think of Hurley…

  18. Tami A July 18, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    I’m afraid to ask.. the drawing? Is that a man carrying his, um, manly parts with the help of another man? Holy cow.

    • olive July 18, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      wish I had not read this an hour away from bedtime….;-)

  19. Alison July 18, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    If you’re ever in Philadelphia, you have to go to the Mutter Museum of Medical Oddities. You’ll love it! Thanks for the laugh.

  20. Lytuanne July 18, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    ,lol that’s a very strange place to visit. yuck

  21. maki July 19, 2012 at 6:26 am #

    Did you get creepy funny T-shirt? Well,this cartoon is HOKUSAI-Katsushika’s work,painting about Wuchereria bancrofti.

  22. Diane July 19, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    How do you say GROSS! in Japanese?

  23. Jorge's Groupies July 20, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Oh Jorge, did they have an eyelash bug? Of course, they’re so tiny you’d need a high power microscope to see them. Perhaps they made a model of one? Glad you enjoyed your trip you guys and glad you’re home safe.

  24. MARTA(BCN) July 21, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Ewwwwwwwwwww Jorge!!! Seguro que le gustaria a Dominic Monaghan 😉

  25. Jeff July 23, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Kitten versus Doberman: http://www.wimp.com/dobermankitten/

  26. hayleyscomett July 28, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    Ick, the tapeworm gives me the heebie jeebies!!!

    Off topic, Jorge, any truth to the rumors you will be joining the cast of ABC’s show Once Upon A Time??? //crossing fingers\\

  27. John August 20, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    The cartoon reminds of something out of Johnny Dangerousy. Too funny.

Leave a comment