No Matter What Toys I Buy…

12 Nov

Nothing trumps the old dried lemon they found in the yard.

Now when they lick my face it smells like Pledge.

69 Responses to “No Matter What Toys I Buy…”

  1. Ali M. November 12, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    smells like pledge – LOL. they are rather cute Jorge, I admit it, even though I like dogs that would use them as toys………..

  2. Comedic Author with Rat Training Tendencies November 12, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    they’re cuter by the second!! I wish my doggy’s breath smelt like pledge..he has beef trachea breath. Hmmmm lov-erly. (gack)

  3. B.E. Earl November 12, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    Same thing with our cats. They like their toys that we buy for them, but they’d much rather play with the box from Amazon that the toys come in.

  4. Jim McKee November 12, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    It could be worse… their breath could smell like dead bird.

    ;-]

  5. Nicole November 12, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    I’m dying of cute overload. They’re so adorable!

  6. Kathy November 12, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    They’re absolutely adorable. Have a heap of fun with them.

    Can’t wait to see you on H.I.M.M.M.

  7. tapadance November 12, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Are the toys you get them to big? The dead fruit is small and easy to grab. Most dog toys are to large for their little mouths to hold.

    Try to find small rope toys they can use to pull each other. Or a small rubber ball. I had one with several small spikes on it so the dog could grab a spike and carry the ball around.

    Because of their size you might want to look at toys in the cat toy aisle.

  8. Taryn November 12, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Pledge smells awesome! I am moving out into the country and I am supposed to be looking at getting a dog, a large breed, to have around but these little puppies are soo cute! I might have to get one for my son and daughter! (who am I kidding? the dog would be for me!)

  9. Lisa November 12, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    I am by nature a “cat person” (we have fostered two kitten litters for the local animal shelter), but I have to say, these puppies have darn near turned me into a dog person!! I told my boyfriend this week, “I think I’d like to have a dog….” I know it’s a HUGE responsibility (you can leave a cat for 4 days with no problem, not so with a dog) and we aren’t quite there yet. But boy…. I think I’ve been missing out on a really rewarding relationship!!

  10. Lisa November 12, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    My cats favorite toy is a tootsie pop! You dogs are insanely adorable….you guys must be thrilled! Cheeers~~

  11. Suzie Q. Wacvet November 12, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    I think you may be onto something here!!

  12. Brandon November 12, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    That’s genius! Much better than doggy breath.

  13. Kim - Mommycosm November 12, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Um, need I remind you of what they were eating? Thinking Pledge breath is definitely an upgrade 🙂

  14. Imani November 12, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Oh, they are sooo cute, (my dog’s breath is unmentionable, I wish he would play with a lemon!) congrats.

  15. Alexis November 12, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Hilarious! Cats are the same, no matter the toy, they want the box the toy came in. Or the string.

  16. jae November 12, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    We rescued two mixed breed pups about a month ago. They’re adorable like your two, but we have no idea what breeds they are except BIG! Enjoy your wee ones!

  17. Natalie @ Chadwell Chronicles November 12, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Oh my gosh! Look at those ears!! Adorable!

  18. Debbie M. November 12, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Too funny! I know what you mean. As others have said, cats are that way too. Years ago, I had bought what I thought would be a nice comfy bed for my cat and he never used it. Then I was assembling something and among the packaging he discovered a small cardboard box about the size of a shoebox and snuggled up. He used that cardboard box for sleeping in and scratching.

  19. Pencils November 12, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Considering what they could have found in the yard, be happy it’s an old lemon. I was on the phone with my sister recently when she suddenly started shrieking. Apparently the hound brought a very decayed dead pigeon in the house and was playing with it.

  20. pamelalovescharlie November 12, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    OMG…I can’t believe how cute they are, I just love Pip! We have a big basket full of toys and Charlie always brings acorns in from the backyard, he tosses them straight up in the air and then tries to cach them…chihuahuas are the cutest!!!

  21. Carrie November 12, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    My yorkie’s favorite toy was a beer bottle cap. She would growl and threaten to take your hand off if you tried to take it from her.

    Plus i’d rather smell lemon pledge that some other smells they could be bringing home! They are so stinking Cute!

  22. Sheryl M November 12, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    My friends’ cocker spaniels used to do exactly the same thing. They would find a old lemon (the gnarlier, the better) in the yard and carry it around in their mouths non-stop. It was quite funny but my friend got tired of them bickering over the lemon since they always wanted the same one so she doesn’t let them do it anymore. I thought the lemon smell was an improvement on dog-food breath 🙂

  23. melissa h November 12, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    They are so adorable – and I bet they are so much fun! I think I need a lemon tree in my backyard – maybe my dog would do the same? I would take pledge over…well…poop breath?? haha…. seriously, its BAD!

  24. jackson November 12, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    They’re so cute . . . and old dried lemons is WAY better than some of the gross things my pup plays with . . . I’ll spare you the details, but I’ve got to be better about keeping the bathroom door closed.

  25. Cindy November 12, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    They are still the cutest dogs ever!

  26. mrcelofan November 12, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Son como los niños, les compras juguetes caros y juegan horas y horas…. con las cajas !!!

    Saludos.

  27. Claudia November 12, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    OMG that is just the cutest EVER.
    You always make me smile Jorge!!!!

  28. Debbie Johnson November 12, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    Just like little kids, it’s more fun to play with the boxes rather than the toys that came in them.

  29. Margie November 12, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    Your little puppies are so cute! Lemon Pledge breath would definitely be better than poop breath! My dog likes to eat our outdoor cat’s poop. Needless to say, I never let him lick me.

  30. Becky November 12, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    Nothing will replace Nunu, but damn…these guys are adorable!

  31. Gina November 12, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    OMG so damm cute . They make life so much more enriched dont they?

  32. Kathy November 12, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    Love them! They are so adorable…. 🙂

  33. Irish Girl November 12, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    I just bought my boy Billy a new toy today – a plush hedghog, although even as I was going through the checkout counter, I wondered at my own gullibility. Every toy–EVERY toy I have bought for him that isn’t made of rubber, he has devastated, defenestrated, and destroyed. He loves chawing at them until the bunting comes out and he can spit it everywhere. Then he brings it to me and asks me to sew it back together again.

    Sure enough, same thing happened within thirty minutes of giving him the hedghog. Which now sports, instead of a cute, longish button nose…a radically deformed and flattened visage that only a mother could love.

    Why do I keep buying him the darn things?

    However, even as I type this, Billy has finally just managed to exhaust himself with play and is now snuggled up to his newest pal, snoozing contentedly.

    Irish

  34. WyzWmn November 12, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    see?
    it’s like I said
    nothing will take NuNu’s place
    there’s just new places to be found in your heart…

    my Pixie is 3.5lbs at a year old
    she LOVES anything that squeaks…and that gets tired in a hurry…but they you look at that little face when she’s standing on your chest…and yer big ole icy heart melts and ya just love them….

  35. Cassandra November 12, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    This is so cute! My cats barely look at store bought toys but will get super exciting if you give them a straw 🙂

  36. Stacey Ball November 12, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    For my dog as a puppy…it was his own poop. Consider yourself lucky!

  37. Joan Crawford November 12, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    It smells like Pledge after my Nana kisses my face too!

    Though sadly, she has a terrible and serious addiction.

    But… yay… puppies…

    😀

  38. Jesika November 12, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    No matter how many toys I buy my cat…his ultimate favourite toy is a drawstring from a pair of old shorts that he’s claimed. He also rarely sits in his gigantic cat stand or cat bed…his favourite sleeping place is a pile of newspaper and printer paper that now permanently sits on the edge of my bed because I don’t have to heart to take away HIS paper. dogs and cats are so funny.

    also, your dogs are too cute!!

  39. Lea November 12, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    Oh how I would love my Moon’s breath to be lemon freshness instead of a likeness to bad asparagus!! Your new babies are wicked adorable, and I look forward to seeing their next adventure!
    Cheers,
    ~Lea

  40. Kitti November 13, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    Dude, they’re so sweet that I’d like to eat them right now! 🙂 (L)

  41. Irish Girl November 13, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    Um, this is incredibly off-topic, but how do y’all put your own avatars on your posts? I’ve been trying to figure it out, and clearly it defeats me…

    A.

    • pamelalovescharlie November 13, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

      Scroll all the way to the top of the page and click on the my account tab…there should be a place there to upload a pic of your choice…my chihuahua, Charlie’s puppy picture is my avatar 🙂

      • Irish Girl November 14, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

        And he’s supremely adorable, may I say. Just killer little ears…:)

        Thanks for the help…I guess I better consider getting an account…LOL

        Irish

  42. Marilyn November 13, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    What great pictures! My cats are the same. And – my 7 year old son STILL would rather play with old cardboard boxes than the toys that came in them!

    Your little dogs are adorable, and their pictures just made my day.

    Thanks for posting!

  43. Jessica November 13, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    They really are just adorable! What sweet faces….they are lucky to have such a great family!

  44. Ann November 13, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    That’s because the lemon presents a curious challenge. The lemon “bites” back.

    Love the baby pictures, Jorge. Keep ’em coming!!

  45. Pei November 13, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    It’s sweet

  46. Jules November 13, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    How cute! A lemon?!? Much better than the dead squirrel that my dogs brought home one day from our back yard. Although I have to say that the stuffed bunny is really cute hanging from Molly’s mouth as she runs through the house. Nellie just likes to chew the bunny’s eyes out.

    Dogs are the awesomemost!

  47. Mighty Morfin November 13, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Hey Jorge!! Puppies are so cute!! Enjoy them!! Even if they do smell like pledge!! LOL!!!

  48. Marianna515 November 13, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    Your puppies are beautiful!
    I just got a new puppy and buy him all kinds of toys. However, his two favorite things are Bounce dryer sheets and string cheese wrappers…LOL!
    Now I’m going have have to give him a a lemon and see what happens. 🙂

  49. DK November 14, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    Simply adorable!!

  50. Sherry November 14, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    They are adorable! Glad you found each other and they ended up in your home. 🙂

  51. Nadine November 14, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    Trust me, gnarly lemons are much better than petrified rodent! I kid you not, it was very large, old, dried up and hollow. I nearly fainted when my little Sparky (Cocker Spaniel) brought me this wonderful present many years ago.

    Changing the subject to more pleasant things, Jorge, I found some wonderful recipes for Sourdough Starter, Francese Bread and Focaccia, and immediately thought of you! Bon appetit!

    http://labellecuisine.com/archives/bread/Sourdough%20Starter,%20Francese%20Bread%20and%20Focaccia.htm

  52. Anastasia November 14, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    Congrats on your two new little babies! I love them!

  53. Annie November 14, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    Just remember that lemon breath is much better than puppy poop breath!

  54. چرت و پرت November 15, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    Cute dogs Jorge but id rather have one of those huge ones

  55. Linda November 15, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    oh gosh that was funny, smell like pledge! My dog (also found on petfinder) LOVES the leaves falling and spends a load of time chasing them as they fall off the trees. meanwhile a vast array of chew toys,balls,throw things site happily in a box.

  56. Michal November 15, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    Another cat-person here, but oh man… those little guys are so cute, I want to cry!

  57. esthera November 16, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    AAH! This makes my face hurt! In a good way. The smile is so big it hurts. Love it.
    My cats usually love the package the toy comes with. I would love lemon breath. Precious!

  58. moon November 16, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    Squeaky clean!

  59. Samantha November 17, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    Kids are the same way…I have a lemon tree in my backyard. When my kids are outside with their little cousins they would rather play under that tree with lemons then any of their toys. And yes, at least they come in smelling lemony fresh!

  60. Heather November 18, 2010 at 3:47 am #

    My cats were like that. They would prefer to chase after balls made from aluminium foil and play in paper bags, boxes, etc. Your little pooches are adorable!

  61. Ewan November 18, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    So flippin’ cute.

  62. gail November 18, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    Your puppies are adorable…we had a chihuahua mix for 16 years..he looked alot like Nunu…we recently just got another chihuahua….12 weeks….he’s great….wasn’t sure what to name him…was a toss up between Hugo Reyes and Bob Barker….went with Bob Barker!! And he has yet to bark!!

  63. felice November 19, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    your puppies are super cute with their little dried up lemon. my dog plays with rotten apples. her fave.

  64. yellowdoggranny November 20, 2010 at 1:14 am #

    lucky they don’t eat poop.

    • Melissa December 2, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      Cutest puppies ever!!

  65. Ewan Cole March 3, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    This is possibly my favourite post of yours Jorge. My dog is the exact same, He has his own toybox in the livingroom and all he plays with is a fist sized rock from outside!

    I’m going to write to you btw, are you still using the address you posted recently?

  66. Samantha Kam April 18, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Hey! I think you’ve found a fantastic new ‘dog toy’ to market!
    ‘Old Dried Lemon’ the natural and eco friendly dog treat!
    Followed by ‘Old Dried Orange’ and for the larger breeds ‘Old Dried Grapefruit’.

    I love these two pups, man, they seem like such a pair of rabble rousers! 🙂

Leave a comment