X_W_T_R_T_O

4 Jan

My holiday break is officially over when I return to work tomorrow.

Over hiatus I read the book ROBOPOCALYPSE and watched the movie West World.

This will forever be remembered as the Christmas when the Robots took over.

21 Responses to “X_W_T_R_T_O”

  1. Mrcelofan January 4, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    La vi no hace mucho y me gustó. ¿ LLegarán algún día los robots a dominar el mundo ? ¿ o serán los simios ? 🙂

    Saludos.

  2. Claudia January 4, 2012 at 2:34 am #

    Never read that book but it looks interesting. LOVED West World. It is a classic.
    🙂

  3. Mlo/Yonomeaburro (@Yonomeaburro) January 4, 2012 at 6:30 am #

    Mira qué calendario más cool de Alcatraz han hecho los del canal TNT en España, contigo como un muñeco de Lego!

    http://yonomeaburro.blogspot.com/2012/01/el-playmobil-de-jorge-garcia-en.html

  4. Julienne January 4, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    I listened to the audio book version of Robocalypse not so long ago, and I totally loved it.
    “Westworld” is one of my all-time favourite movies. How about adding to the “Christmas the robots took over” with some more end time feeling? I strongly recommend “Last Light” by Alex Scarrow. I read it while I stayed for a few days in London for a workshop – BIG mistake 😛

    • Jorge Garcia January 4, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

      Thanks but I think I might go for something lighter. Or Nonfiction.

  5. Tammie January 4, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    I have never heard of Robopocalypse. I will have to check it out. Glad you had a good break!

    • Tammie January 4, 2012 at 7:53 am #

      Perhaps you should get a percentage;o)

  6. Michelle Offutt (@Meechalle) January 4, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    What did you think of the book?
    I read it recently too — I really enjoyed it, and it’s not my usual reading material.

    I think with the right cast it could be an awesome movie.

    It has made me rethink a Roomba…kidding!

  7. Debbie M. January 4, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    Wow, how funny you should say that and mention that book because my husband and I were talking about robots and machines after we saw a Twilight Zone episode over the holidays. It was about how people’s jobs at a manufacturing plant, which employed thousands all over the country were eliminated because robots and machines were more efficient and less expensive in the long run. The payoff was when the man who ran the company and was in charge of replacing everyone with machines was himself replaced with a robot. It’s already happened in many ways and when we get advanced robots we really need to look out:)

    Oh, and I loved the movie West World!

  8. Jeff January 4, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Makes me think of “The Wrong Trousers” with Wallace & Gromit.

  9. Donna Siano January 4, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    I’m counting the day! I missed seeing you on TV. Its going to be a good year.

  10. Deborah January 4, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    So excited! Alcatraz just showed up on the TIVO listings.

  11. Jackie Denney January 4, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    I’m reading the new Stephen King..I have Robopoclypse to read too…if you haven’t read The Name of the Wind yet…’yafta’..

    • Jorge Garcia January 4, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

      Apparently I’ve given you guys the impression that I read a lot and that finishing a book over the break was not a miracle. I get it I was bragging to Beth who reads all the time that I finished my book while she’s still reading hers.

  12. sarah January 4, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    hey jorge!
    so, i was wondering….
    do you actually say ‘dude’ all the time?
    or did the lost writers make you do it?
    by the way, you’re so freaking awesome.♥

  13. Kathryn January 4, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    I read robopocalypse a few months ago and really enjoyed it. You might also like The Stories of Ibis, By Hiroshi Yamamoto 🙂

  14. MARTA(BcN) January 4, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    Nunca he visto esta pelicula y el libro lo recomiendas??? por cierto me encanta tu muñeco lego, ya queda poco para Alcatraz!!! emocion!!!!! besos

  15. Michele // Just a Lil Lost January 5, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Ooh I’ve been meaning to read Robopocalypse! How was it?

  16. kake79 January 11, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    Those both sound interesting. I’ll have to add them to my ever-expanding list of things to read and watch. On another note, I never realized Michael Crichton had ever directed; just thought he wrote.

  17. Carl January 14, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    Futurama had it right. Evil Robot Santa. Finally the nice people will get what they deserve.

Leave a comment