It’s Later

5 Mar

If I know anything about veterinary medicine it’s this:

If something’s wrong, odds are it’s something they ate.

So when something was wrong with Smidge I totally called it, ” I think she ate a staple.”

Here’s her xray. 

Here it is in context.

This is her stomach full of food.

And this is the staple at the start of her intestine.

And this appears to be a spiral notebook she apparently ate as well.

As you can see the staple is completely opened flat. And if you think that was easy for her to swallow, it was not. I had to wrap it in a piece of ham just to get her to take it.

 

30 Responses to “It’s Later”

  1. Özer March 5, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    I really hope she will be fine!! And you have amazing talent at telling us the story in just a few words and your great images. Thanks for sharing!!
    (And that´s a really straight spine she has! Hope no spiral notebook is involved. Saludos desde México, te extrañamos en la tele!!)

  2. monkeyface March 5, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    such a cute puppy! i wish her the best right now.

    quit feeding her ham

    • Henry Wasserman March 5, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

      Maybe they can help her at Staples. Kidding aside. I hope everything passes out ok.

      Once Shayna was missing for part of the night. I literally lay in bed alternating between prayer and ache. I did not want to wake up without a dog.

      The police found her a little later wandering around in the dark.

  3. The Rev March 5, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    My Buster Doglas ate about half a Kong. After Walter Payton the Dog ate it the day before. I feel your pain. I hope everything comes out ok (sorry, but I had to say it.)

  4. Alicia March 5, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    I hope the little bugger will be ok. Does she have to have surgery? I will keep her in my thoughts and prayers. Poor little imp.

  5. Debbie M. March 5, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    Oh, poor Smidge! I love the way you told the story. Are they going to be monitoring her to make sure the staple passes without causing injury? Please keep us posted. Animals can make your hair turn gray too:)

  6. Tena Lynn March 5, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    Do you guys have any news now?

  7. Katzenmother March 5, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Hopefully all is better soon. Can it be surgically removed? Seems that would be the safest way to proceed. Give her some snuggles for me.

  8. Morgan W. March 5, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I am usually just a lurker…but I have got to say that laughed out loud (really loud) with that last part! Good one! 🙂

  9. LSE March 5, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Oh puppies, why must we eat things that are inedible?

    My old little dog was the master of this. From Barbies to bleach- she ingested just about everything possible and came out fine in the end. The time she ate one of those sticky hand toys from the vending machine was pretty special though. I wondering why the poop was sticking to the ground and oh hey! There was the sticky hand I thought my sister had stolen.

    I hope little Smidge gets better and doesn’t eat any more ham-wrapped staple hors d’oeuvres!

  10. Tom March 5, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    So what’s the plan of action from here?

  11. crankypants March 5, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    Oh boy. I hope it passes through the straight way!
    My dog (the great recycler) once swallowed the end of a rawhide he’d been chewing on, pooped it out a day or two later (thank goodness) and started chewing on it again. He was hiding with it so not knowing what contraband he had (and he used to like to chew on thumbtacks and push pins too) I grabbed it from him and it took me a few seconds to realize what I had in my hand and where it had been before his mouth. No more rawhide for Elvis.
    Best to Smidge (who has similar markings to my pooch). Gives new meaning to ‘diet staples’ or ‘staple foods’…

  12. toby March 5, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    I hope everything works out okay! And I just have to say: I *love* the way you superimposed the x-ray onto the photo. That is totally cool 🙂

  13. kraftypixie March 5, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Ooooh! Is she okay now? Please let us know! Love the way you did the pics! Her spine does look just like a spiral notebook spine! I am curious as to how they took care of her.

    • mary March 5, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

      Poor Smidge. I’m guessing this required surgery?

      I have a chihuahua/dachshund mix. He is a year old and still requires close supervision to protect him from himself. He’s been caught with pencils, clothes pins, and ink pens to name just the most recent finds. These items were not on the floor–he apparently knows what desk caddies are for (SNACKS!).

  14. Jane March 6, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    Lol the spiral notebook. Too funny. lol.

  15. JL Pagano March 6, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    Thank God for crankypants! Couldnt believe there would be as many as 12 comments on this thread without ONE “staple diet” joke!

    Seriously though,hope it works its way through the little guy soon.

  16. Nitou March 6, 2011 at 1:21 am #

    Poor Smidge. I hope everything is going to be ok 😥 Do you have any more news ?

  17. MARTA March 6, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    Hopefully all is better soon, espero que se recupere pronto, muchos animos!!

  18. Ania March 6, 2011 at 4:33 am #

    Hope she’ll be okey! …and you’re hilarious ^.^

  19. Carly March 6, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    What, no Easy Button jokes?

  20. Jessica March 6, 2011 at 6:49 am #

    is she ok?!?!?!? (spiral notebook…..I just can’t)

  21. Duh March 6, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    So sorry to hear about your dog, but why on earth do dogs eat poop? My cat doesn’t eat poop. It can’t taste good. Or can it?

  22. Melody March 6, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    I sort of feel bad laughing about a tiny dog eating a staple but I didn’t have much choice. Good thing she will be ok. That has to be uncomfortable!

  23. jackie March 6, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    I had a pitty bull dog that ate a tube of lipstick, a 9volt battery, a razor blade(came out in the poop)and a tube of super glue..gluing her lips shut..had to get finger nail polish remover to get her lips open..at least when they were glued shut she didn’t eat anything.

  24. yogahz March 7, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    Great geolocation of the xray on Smidge’s body.

  25. Caitlin March 8, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    “Dude, dogs will eat anything. When I was a kid, my dog, Buster — I had this drawer where I’d throw in all my change, right — and I guess there were some Smarties in there — so, like, the next day, Buster craps out a $1.35 in nickels. “

  26. Tammie March 11, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    A had a dog that ate a bunch of tinfoil once, but it smelled like food, and they were able to get him to throw it up. (It was quickly apparent that something was not right after he did it.) Sorry you all had to go through such a traumatic experience. I hope this passes quickly;o)

  27. Rachel March 16, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    My cat swallowed a really long ribbon the other day. I heard her moan and it really scared me and then she threw it up. Also, she once had to have surgery to get a needle and thread removed. Oh and I loved you on Fringe.

  28. fay April 30, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Oh yes, I’ve been through this. Last year my great dane ate a baseball! Thankfully they were able to get it out with a scope. Glad your pooch is ok.

Leave a comment