My First Mix Tape Ever!

27 Nov

IMG_2605Dug this out of a box the other day. It was my first Mix Tape I ever made.

I called it Picks… But I spelled it with an X… To be cool.

It was assembled by the 45s I bought at the mall and a cassette tape of the Miami Vice soundtrack.

Here’s what was on it:

Side A
We Built This City – Starship (Hands down my favorite song in 1985)

Weird Science – Oingo Boingo
Take On Me – Aha (The only song that still seems to get rotation.)
Never – Heart (I totally forgot about this song.)
Head Over Heels – Tears for Fears
Lay Your Hands On Me – Thompson Twins (Another forgotten gem. I don’t even hear it at Karaoke ever. People only to do “Hold Me Now.”)
You Belong to the City – Glenn Frey
Say You Say Me – Lionel Richie (I guess it didn’t give much thought to how the songs flowed into each other.)
Election Day – Arcadia
When the Going Gets Tough – Billy Ocean
Miami Vice Theme – Jan Hammer (This song made it on the tape because I still had space on this side but it wasn’t long enough for a full length pop song.)
Side B

Dancing in the Streets – David Bowie and Mick Jagger

Smuggler’s Blues – Glenn Frey (Miami Vice gave me the padding I needed to fill 90 minutes.)
Sun City – Artists United Against Apartheid
St. Elmo’s Fire (Man in Motion) – John Parr (The only song that could unseat We Built This City)
That’s What Friends Are For – Dionne Warwick and Friends (I guess to kill any momentum from the last song)
Sisters are Doing it for Themselves – Eurythmics and Aretha Franklin
Kyrie – Mr. Mister
Rock Me Amadeus – Falco
Sanctify Yourself – Simple Minds
Digital Display – Ready for the World
Secrets – OMD (Big finish?)
Now that I look at it,  I think the song order was determined by which record I bought next.
Now to convert this into a Playlist.
(With some edits.)

26 Responses to “My First Mix Tape Ever!”

  1. toby November 27, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    That is fantastic! Sounds like a great playlist, maybe I’ll make one too 🙂

  2. Joshua November 27, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    Except for “Dancing in the Streets” that is a solid tape. Also, kudos for having Boingo on there and a different Simple Minds song than most would choose.

  3. jazzuboo November 27, 2013 at 2:59 am #

    That has got to be the coolest mixtape I have ever seen. Saved as a Spotify playlist here – http://open.spotify.com/user/1230928561/playlist/57vGlK05ejbl3o47ZC9rOH, with a few omissions.

  4. missscarlett November 27, 2013 at 4:16 am #

    Omg!! Love it. Totally remember choosing final songs by length. 🙂

    Rock Me Amadeus now firmly stuck in my head!

  5. Simran Narang November 27, 2013 at 5:01 am #

    Take on Me will live on forever!

  6. tiffibug November 27, 2013 at 5:43 am #

    Simply amazing, and is pretty much what my first mix tape had on it too.

  7. Rachel November 27, 2013 at 5:56 am #

    Even though I know they exemplify ’80s cheese, I still love Man in Motion and Kyrie. =)

  8. Shelley C November 27, 2013 at 6:11 am #

    I love that Oingo Boingo and Lionel Richie are on the same mix tape. Ah, the 80’s!

  9. Beth H. November 27, 2013 at 6:34 am #

    Sounds like one I would have made. Making a note of this list to go download. 🙂

  10. Miss Kitty (@ThatMissKitty) November 27, 2013 at 7:00 am #

    You’re keeping the Oingo Boingo on the playlist, yes? And adding more? 🙂

  11. Mr.Celofán November 27, 2013 at 7:34 am #

    Gran selección. Qué alegría da encontrar cosas de hace tantos años… Nos hacemos mayores…O.o

    • Sharon Zimmer November 27, 2013 at 10:17 am #

      HAHAHAHA! AWESOME!

  12. Jana Hannah November 27, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    I love all those songs!! I bet that felt awesome to listen to those songs and re-live some memories. I totally need to see if I have any of those mixed tapes lying around in a box somewhere. On a mission.

  13. Tia Bradford November 27, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    This is epically awesome. Even though I have nothing to play them on, I still have all of my old 80’s mix tapes. I pretty much have the exact same songs. I did not have money to buy the actual cassettes back then, so I would listen to the radio or the Casey Kasem countdown to record the songs. When I hear them to this day I still imagine I hear the DJ voice overs over the beginning and ends of the songs like I recorded them. Classic.

  14. Jeff November 27, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    What is that thing? How does it work? Side A? Side B? Does it need batteries?

  15. Tammie November 27, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

    I see no need for edits. I have not thought of some of those songs in years, but I still love Aha’s album ‘Hunting High and Low’. I really want to hear that Billy Ocean song now. I had completely forgotten that one.

  16. jackson bates November 27, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    I forgot all about Rock Me Amadeus! Used to love that song! Happy Thanksgiving!

  17. claudia333 November 28, 2013 at 3:56 am #

    Cool songs. Now I have ” We Built this City” in my head!!
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and Beth.

  18. mspatty1 November 28, 2013 at 7:46 am #

    Nice set! Oh, the hours I spent making tapes from my LPs and 45s…My little cassette player was my best friend in high school, saw me through some seriously tough times!

  19. megsthewriter November 28, 2013 at 7:54 am #

    Sweet mix tape, though you are missing “All I Need Is A Miracle” by Mike and the Mechanics (which I might argue is the best song of ’85…) Found a mix tape not too long ago, though I’m embarrassed to say, was filled with Ace of Base and La Bouche… *sigh*

  20. chinny November 28, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    Happy Thanksgiving! Great mix tape play list. Amadeus came on the radio the other day and hadn’t hurt it in years. A classic!

  21. ChaCha November 28, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    Sounds similar to one of my old mid-’80s mix tapes. Loved my Walkman. Remember when they were the coolest thing we could own! 😀

  22. Bella November 28, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    Would love to see your pictures but don’t have instgram.

  23. James Hernandez November 29, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

    Jorge,

    I think you meant to write “built this city’ with a t. Great song anyhow!!!

Leave a comment